It’s that time again…

Well, this has not been the best of weeks. I’ve spent most of it on the couch, huddled up in blankets, sipping tea, coughing and blowing my nose (with a late night hospital visit just to mix it up). I thought I’d at least be able to use the time off work to do something productive, but alas, my knitting remains in its basket, the violin in its case, and my journal blank. I’ve filled my brain with an overload of National Geographic and HGTV and Food Network, that’s for sure. But you know what else I’ve managed to do? Write a whole bunch of cover letters. Yep, it’s that time again. My contract with the NORDIK Institute will be coming to an end in a little over a month. This first year out of Western has been an incredible experience, bringing together my love of community, mapping, history, creative writing, research, and even a little graphic design and web development! You can read more about the Animating the John Rowswell Hub Trail project here, and visit the official website when it launches in a few weeks! Along the way, I’ve reconnected with some old friends and made new ones. I’m discovering new hobbies every day, it seems. (I just can’t help it! I love to learn. Problem is, my free time is bursting at the seams. A few months ago I asked my mom, “Is this what adulthood is all about? Never having enough time for anything?” The answer: yep.) I’m looking forward to the next big thing, although I have no idea what it’s going to be. This position has really piqued my interest in the communications side of things, so I could see myself in a promotions or visitor experience sort of career, but I would also love to dig deeper into material culture or exhibits or even built heritage. In other words, I’d love anything that lets me foster an enthusiasm for history and help people discover something new. Clearly that could cover a lot. So while it’s a bit unnerving not to know where I’m going to end up in the next couple months, I’m not worried about finding a fulfilling job. Now what would be REALLY nice is a full time, permanent job with benefits, so I can actually settle somewhere…but that’s another story. To mark the end of one chapter and the beginning of a new one, I’ll be writing a few posts about the takeaways from my time at NORDIK. Stay tuned for these lessons and more from the Hub Trail, coming soon to a screen near you:

In the meantime, I shall be enjoying lots of mint tea and Halls and Ventolin. Wonderful invention, that stuff. Perhaps I should write some posts about medical history too? This has been your latest dream-saturated, glass-half-full dose of The Pixelated Historian! Until next time…

Leave a Reply

