Got a Liebster

No, it’s not a disease, or a crustacean, it’s an award.

The Pixelated Historian is growing up in the world. I was just nominated for a Liebster Award by Diana of http://www.parttimemonster.wordpress.com/.  Until a couple hours ago I had never heard of the Liebster Award, but after doing some quick research I discovered that it’s a small symbol of recognition given by bloggers to bloggers, in order to promote the discovery of new blogs.

There are a few variations of the rules, but the most recent version goes as such:

  • nominations go to small blogs – so, 200 followers or fewer;
  • each nominee should nominate 5-10 other blogs;
  • each nominee answers 10 questions asked by the nominator, and asks 10 questions of its nominees;
  • each nominee links back to the nominator.

In this way, the award acts a like a chain email that reveals more and more new blogs as it goes, and each nominated blogger gets to say a little bit about him or herself. (I bet you could reveal some interesting blogosphere networks by analyzing this – but I digress.) By no means is it going to boost my real-world status or income, but it sure does give me a nice warm and fuzzy feeling! It happens to look really good in my website’s sidebar, too.

Since Part Time Monster has received three awards (congratulations), Diana has given her “picks” the task of choosing 10 of her 30 questions to answer for ourselves. In the spirit of cooperation, here goes.

  1. Which novel or long poem is worthy of attention today? Is it strange of me to say that I really liked Beowulf? Seamus Heaney just published a really good translation…
  2. Which nonfiction book is worthy of attention today? I wish more university students read So What Are You Going to Do With That? Finding Careers Outside Academia.
  3. Why do you blog? The Pixelated Historian started out mainly because my classes required me to blog. But since then, I’ve found that I really enjoy writing these posts. I think it’s a more dynamic way to make an online presence for myself than having a static profile somewhere. And I’ve enjoyed the experience of discovering that there are lots of people who share my interests out in the world of the internet!
  4. If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go? Venice. I went there once, and ever since then, I’ve been dying to go back.
  5. What is your favourite kitchen gadget? My garlic press, 100%. I love cooking, and pressing your garlic sure beats trying to mince it with a knife!
  6. What is the best book you read in 2013? Something from Jack Whyte’s Dream of Eagles series. Please don’t ask me to pick just one.
  7. How many pairs of shoes are in your closet? Four.
  8. What motivates you? Knowing I got the job well done.
  9. What’s your guilty pleasure? Video games and manga.
  10. Spicy or mild? Mmm, definitely spicy.

Most of the blogs I follow go above the 200-follower category. I do know a few small-time bloggers who are doing interesting things though – several of them being my classmates. I don’t expect all of them will answer the questions, but these sites are worth seeing anyway.

And if you’re so inclined, here are the questions I have for you:

  1. Have you ever heard of a Liebster Award?
  2. Why did you start a blog?
  3. How long have you been a blogger?
  4. What’s your favourite part about blogging?
  5. Apart from blogging, how do you like to spend your time?
  6. Fiction or nonfiction?
  7. You have a year to travel anywhere in the world, where do you go and what do you do?
  8. If you had $1 million to spend this year, how would you spend it?
  9. Your biggest fear? (Or any fear of yours)
  10. Your biggest inspiration?
Leave a Reply

