Link of the Week: Firebug

Call me opportunistic, but when I get inspired by a great idea, I tend to run with it. This “Link of the Week” series is adapted from a similar series started by my colleague Ryan Hunt. I’m using it to highlight things that I think are thought-provoking, interesting, funny, or just plain neat. This post is a plug for a great little program that I recently discovered through Dominic Aquilina.

Firebug

Firebug is an add-on for Firefox (there are “light” versions of it for other browsers) which makes debugging your websites simple(r). Once it’s installed, one click of the cute little icon reveals the code behind the web page you’re viewing. You can edit HTML, CSS, script, and more, and see live previews of your changes. It also assists in locating problems, as you can either search your code directly or hover over elements to see what controls them. This is especially important for the dismally inexperienced (a.k.a. me). I hope to use Firebug to make improvements to the South Street Hospital website over the course of this semester.

I also noticed that Firebug has a helpful tutorial series which presumes no prior experience. If you’re feeling adventurous, install the plugin and see how your favourite websites are created!

Leave a Reply

