New website launch!

I’m happy to announce that my most recent web development project, the South Street Hospital HGIS website, is now live!

This website features my research on London, Ontario’s South Street Hospital. I take on its 138 years of history through a historical geographic information system, or HGIS, which traces the changes made to the building through its footprint. The centerpiece of the website is my interactive maps, which allow you to pan, zoom, and turn historical layers on and off. Rather than narrating the history through an accompanying essay, I do so through geotagged markers placed right on the map. This offers visitors a unique interface to learn about the South Street Hospital.

I encourage you to see the website for yourself. I hope it will teach you something new, and that you find it easy to follow! Although I created it for this year’s Digital History course, I plan to keep improving and maintaining the site, so feel free to send suggestions my way. A detailed workflow explaining how the website was created will be posted shortly.

Leave a Reply

