Behind the scenes: becoming a tour guide

My RA position at Banting House National Historic Site of Canada includes posting weekly on their WordPress blog. I’m going to start re-blogging these posts here. Read on if you want to know more about my job at the museum. 🙂

This is the second entry in a “Behind the scenes” series authored by me.

Banting House NHSC

IMG_0010

Hello again everyone, and welcome to Banting House National Historic Site of Canada. Can I interest you in a guided tour of the museum?

Guided tours are one of the most important things we offer at Banting House. While I am enjoying the process of learning how to be a great tour guide, I am finding that there’s a lot of practice that goes into making it look easy.

New staff at Banting House become acquainted with the museum in a variety of ways. On my first shift, the curator, Grant Maltman, gave me a one-on-one tour. This was the perfect way to be introduced to Banting House, since he knows it better than anyone. I was then given a manual that lists the important points about each gallery. A couple hours and lots of highlighter ink later, I returned to the galleries to tour them on my own. Finally…

View original post 426 more words

Leave a Reply

